StadtWasserFluss

Starkregenrisikomanagement als Serious Game

In this project, game-based learning modules are developed that are to be used for teaching in the field of heavy rain prevention, protection and awareness raising. Heavy rainfall is a phenomenon that will occur more and more frequently in the future due to climate change and cause greater damage. Due to the shift in rainfall events from evenly distributed rainfall amounts throughout the year to longer periods of drought and heavier rainfall events, knowledge about protective measures must be built up, consolidated, expanded and disseminated more intensively in the future.

The use of digital serious games promotes the intrinsic motivation of the learners and leads to a more intensive engagement of the learners with the content. The heavy rain events are visualised and offer the user the possibility to participate in the extreme situations in a playful way. Additional incentives are achieved through competitions, high scores and reward systems.

Games that deal with the topic of river flooding already exist. However, learning modules on the topic of heavy rainfall do not yet exist. This is where the project comes in by closing the gap and offering students, volunteers and those affected the opportunity to learn specialised knowledge in a playful, collaborative, mobile way using real heavy rainfall events.

The aim of the project is the development of game-based learning modules for knowledge transfer and awareness raising of climate-related heavy rainfall events and their mitigation. The result should enable a playful approach and training in the education and training of students, volunteers and people affected by heavy rain.

The source code of the project can also be found in GitLab.

General Information

Supporter

Project partner

More projects

StadtWasserFluss

In this project, game-based learning modules are developed to be used for teaching in the field of heavy rain prevention, protection and awareness raising. Heavy rain is a phenomenon that is caused by climate change.

Show project »

SureMap

Egypt's population is growing rapidly, but natural resources such as water and land suitable for settlements and agriculture are limited, while others, such as

Show project »

SeCom 2.0

SeCom 2.0 is a game for training and educational purposes in the field of flood management. It contains different scenarios that simulate a flood situation in the city of Cologne. Main target groups

Show project »

StadtWasserFluss

Starkregenrisikomanagement als Serious Game

In diesem Projekt werden spielebasierte Lernmodule entwickelt, die zur Lehre im Bereich Starkregenprävention, -schutz und -bewusstseinsbildung genutzt werden sollen. Starkregen ist ein Phänomen, welches klimabedingt in Zukunft immer häufiger auftreten und höhere Schäden verursachen wird. Durch die Verschiebung der Regenereignisse von gleichmäßig über das Jahr verteilten Regenmengen, hin zu längeren Dürreperioden und stärkeren Regenereignissen muss in Zukunft das Wissen über Schutzmaßnahmen intensiver aufgebaut, verstetigt, erweitert und weiterverbreitet werden.

Der Einsatz digitaler Serious Games fördert die intrinsische Motivation der Lernenden und führt zu einer intensiveren Auseinandersetzung der Lernenden mit den Inhalten. Die Starkregenereignisse werden visualisiert und bieten dem Nutzer die Möglichkeit spielerisch an den Extremsituationen teilzuhaben. Zusätzliche Anreize werden durch Wettkämpfe, Highscores und Belohnungssysteme erreicht.

Spiele, die sich thematisch mit dem Thema Flusshochwasser auseinandersetzen, existieren bereits. Lernmodule zum Thema Starkregen gibt es aber noch nicht. Hier setzt das Projekt an, in dem es die Lücke schließt und Studierenden, Ehrenämtlern und Betroffenen die Möglichkeit bietet, fachspezifisches Wissen spielerisch, kollaborativ, mobil und anhand realer Starkregenereignisse zu erlernen.

Das Ziel des Projektes ist die Entwicklung von spielebasierten Lernmodulen zur Wissensvermittlung und Bewusstseinsbildung von klimabedingten Starkregenereignissen und deren Bekämpfung. Das Resultat soll eine spielerische Auseinandersetzung und Schulung in der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Studierenden, Ehrenämtlern und Starkregenbetroffenen ermöglichen.

Der Quellcode des Projekts befindet sich auch in GitLab.

Generell

Förderer

Projektpartner

Weitere Projekte

StadtWasserFluss

In diesem Projekt werden spielebasierte Lernmodule entwickelt, die zur Lehre im Bereich Starkregenprävention, -schutz und -bewusstseinsbildung genutzt werden sollen. Starkregen ist ein Phänomen, welches klimabedingt

Projekt anzeigen »

DeVilag

Steering Migration through Sustainable Development: Euro-Egyptian Program for Agriculture and Rural Development (DeVilag) zielt auf die Verminderung der Migration von ländlichen Gebieten in Ägypten in

Projekt anzeigen »

SeCom 2.0

SeCom 2.0 ist ein Spiel zu Trainings und Ausbildungszwecken im Bereich Hochwassermanagement. Es beinhaltet verschiedene Szenarien, die eine Hochwassersituation in der Stadt Köln simulieren. Hauptzielgruppen

Projekt anzeigen »